State Audit Department



The State Audit Department has been in existence from 1880 onwards and conducts audit on the accounts of all Local Bodies and other authorities and as such this Department is instrumental in ensuring financial discipline in all these institutions. The State Audit Department is the statutory auditor for all the institutions listed in the schedule appended to the Telangana State Audit Act, 1989 which include all PRIs, ULBs, AMCs, Universities, HR& CE Institutions (Temples) etc., Government have been entrusting the audit of several other institutions though not listed in the said schedule like e-Seva centres, Rythu Bazars, Water User Associations and also the audit of various schemes like Food for work, ACDP, Rajiv Palle Bata, BRGF, Village Insurance Scheme etc to this Dept. The Dept also conducts audit on the accounts of grants released under Natural Calamities and issues Utilisation certificates for getting further release of Grants from GoI or State Govt. The Dept authorities pensions and issues Pension Payment Orders (PPO) / Gratuity Payment Orders (GPO) etc to class-IV employees of Govt, and various cadres of local bodies and Police and Forest Departments.

Citizen Charter icon Organogram

Department and its constituents – Office Address, Contact Details (Landline Number and Official e-mail ID)
Department : State Audit Department
Address: 5th Floor, Insurance Building
Tilak Road, Abids, Hyderabad.
Land Line No.040-24754877
Official email ID:

Constituent Offices:

1) 33 districts have offices of Dist. Audit Officer, State Audit located in the district head quarters.

2) 2 Regional Offices: i) Regional Deputy Director, State Audit, Warangal.
ii) Regional Deputy Director, State Audit, Hyderabad.

3) Resident Audit Offices: i) Audit Officer, State Audit, SLNSD at Yadagirigutta.
ii) Audit Officer, State Audit, SRRSD, Vemulawada.
iii) Deputy Director, State Audit, Osmania University, Hyderabad
iv) Audit Officer, State Audit, Kakatiya University, Warangal.